Mini Habits – Getting to Know Myself

Today is my birthday.  So I’m giving myself a present and that is time to write/blog for just a minute.  A mini habit I’d like to have at some point.  But today I’d like to share what following the instructions in a little book called “Mini Habits” called to my attention – what my heart really wants.

First, I was to write all the mini habits I’d like to start.  Good habits, happy habits, inspirational habits, positive habits, etc.  After making the list, I was to write WHY these habits are important to me to have!  WOW!  I learned a lot about myself there!   Then I was to pick one habit to start on, so I chose the one week/one habit style to narrow it all down a little.  As you see, the left side of my journal is pretty full of good habits I’ve either lost or want to possess.  One of them popped out at me every time I read the list to pick just one for this week.  Reading Scripture.  Just 5 minutes a day (which can lead to more, that’s the point).

IMG_0609 (1)

So you may be seeing the phrase “Stupid Small”?  I really like how this guy writes and inspires in his book.  Yes, stupid small.  Keeping the start of a habit SO incredibly small that there is no way you will not success!  Plus, here’s the kicker, once you start with ‘stupid small’ every time, you may end up with crazy large!  I long to sit, read the Bible, write my thoughts about it, etc.  But I have to start somewhere to make this a good and healthy habit – small.

So THIS is where I’ve started.  Five silly little minutes.  Make it a habit.  And pray that the good Lord will make this something CRAZY LARGE some day.

If you were to make a list, what would be on yours?  Where are your passions at?  What is lacking in your life that you absolutely COULD start today with a stupid small daily goal?

Makes you think, doesn’t it.  🙂

Leave a comment